My Faith Has Found a Resting Place

Debating …pondering …dissecting Scripture ..analyzing the Greek for meaning  …  I may have landed somewhere.

I’m simple-minded yet emotionally complex.

Knowledge and life experience has  poured into my being over the last 5 decades.

I ponder this life and the Creator God and how it is  all woven together in some wild and mysterious fashion.

My head is full of thoughts as I lie down for the evening and then it’s as if  the Holy Spirit sings something simple and soothing into my soul …

“My faith has found a resting place,

Not in device nor creed.

I trust the Ever-Living One –

His wounds for me shall plead.

I need no other argument,

I need no other plea,

It is enough that Jesus died …

And that He died for me.”   *

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I knew  – in all the thoughts and debate and analysis — it is enough that Jesus died and that He died for me!

My simple mind is embracing the profound !

My heart is at rest!

It is well with my soul!

*Song “My Faith Has Found a Resting Place” –  credit:

Words:  Eliza E. Hewitt , in Songs of Joy and Glad­ness, 1891. Hymn­als oft­en show the au­thor as Li­die H. Ed­munds, Eli­za’s pseu­do­nym.

Music: Landås, André E. M. Grétry (1741-1813); ar­ranged by Wil­liam J. Kirk­pat­rick (1838-1921)

4 thoughts on “My Faith Has Found a Resting Place

Leave a Reply

