When You Need A Word for the New Year

I typically find myself leaning  toward reading something shorter and to the point as opposed to longer literary pieces …like books, for instance.  :-)  This may be a commentary on my short attention span and lack of  focus and inability to retain information   but then  I can always blame TV and social media on that and we’re good, right?  Somebody else out there understood my dilemma  and came up with the brilliant idea of blogging on the internet…just my speed !   I do read books, mind you, but for whatever reason — blogs and articles are often more my thing.

With that thought in mind …I’m reading  a few  a lot of blogs and I’m seeing that New Year’s theme again … find one word* …one verse ….one phrase …to start the New Year off and running with vision and purpose and promise.    I keep thinking of that and wondering what my “one word” might be.  I want one !  I need one !  But nothing’s coming so far and it’s already January 3rd !  Yikes ! I usually have a verse of  encouragement on my chalkboard but , alas, it is staring at me …blank !  …and I’m  hoping this doesn’t mean my word for this year is “blank” !

My blank chalkboard and yes, my Christmas tree is still up in the background because I haven't felt like taking it down ...but the roses are from my sweet husband to make me feel better :)

My blank chalkboard and yes, my Christmas tree is still up in the background because I haven’t felt like taking it down …but the roses are from my sweet husband to make me feel better :)

This “blank” feeling may be due, in part, to the stomach bug that bit on New Year’s Day with a vengeance  !  Because of that fact, I  actually do have words but they’re more like, “Ughhh” , “ooohhh”, and  my sincerest , more intelligible one…”Jesus, please help me feel better!” (an honest prayer! )  

Ironically, I felt slightly better tonight and thought I’d sit and write about the “blank” feeling I have in hopes that something   would fill in that blank leaving me with  a light bulb moment and a lot of spiritual encouragement for all of us .  Sigh…that is not what is happening; however, it has given me some much-needed distraction to my blank slate and hopefully has triggered some nerve cell connection in my brain to wake up and  hear the word !

On the other hand, my “blank” may give more space for me to listen to you ! Maybe that has something to do with all of this…  listen

I’d love to hear how God is speaking to you as you start the New Year  and don’t worry if you don’t have anything yet …I’m still waiting too :)

In listening to my sweet mama the other day, she wisely shared this verse as the new year rolled around…

DSCN0022

Mom — with our oldest son, Roger (Christmas , 2013)

Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,

Unto him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21 (KJV)

Happy New Year !!!

 

*Inspired by these resources:

 http://www.incourage.me/2014/01/rewriting-resolutions-choosing-one-word.html

http://www.aholyexperience.com/

http://myoneword.org/

{On a side note:  Did you know you can send pictures directly from your smart phone to your  WordPress (www.wordpress.com) media gallery without doing the whole , “send-it-to-your-e-mail-and-download-it-so-you-can-upload-it-to-your-blog ” routine !  Amazing !  Who knew !}

7 thoughts on “When You Need A Word for the New Year

  1. The tape measure verse. Do you more of them?

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Jan 3, 2014, at 11:31 PM, a life-giving moment wrote:

    WordPress.com Joy Waters Martin posted: “I typically find myself leaning toward reading something shorter and to the point as opposed to longer literary pieces …like books, for instance. :-) This may be a commentary on my short attention span and lack of focus and inability to retain infor”

  2. Happy New Year to you & your Family.Love this post & your Mother”s vs.I pray she is better after her fall.I was thinking about word”s for the New Year a few days ago & don”t have mine yet either.love u.

  3. A great word from my brother, Phil, that I had to share with you all …” “And after the earthquake a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire the sound of a low whisper.” The Hebrew for a low whisper is more like a thin silence. Just a thought -God is always at work to encourage even when our chalk boards are blank.” -

  4. Hey Joy. Happy New Year to you and Roger! I John 2:28 And now, little children, abide in him; that, when he shall appear, we may have confidence, and not be ashamed before him at his coming. I am using the phrase “abide in Him” from this verse for 2014. I enjoyed reading you blog. Love y’all!

Leave a Reply

