Hosanna! Save us!

-See, your King comes to you ...

If you’re on the 40 day journey to the Cross, we’re coming to the last  week of Lent and the Biblical calendar reminds us of that final  week before the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ–Holy Week .   Palm Sunday is a day of remembrance  and celebration.  It’s a day to remember and retell the story of  Jesus  riding into Jerusalem  as people  lined the streets, spreading  their cloaks and palm branches as a sign of victory and triumph to honor the King …Jesus Christ.

 This took place to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet:

 “Say to Daughter Zion,
    See, your king comes to you,
gentle and riding on a donkey,
    and on a colt, the foal of a donkey.’

The disciples went and did as Jesus had instructed them. They brought the donkey and the colt and placed their cloaks on them for Jesus to sit on. A very large crowd spread their cloaks on the road, while others cut branches from the trees and spread them on the road.

Matthew 25 (NIV)

The air must have been filled with excitement as the people longingly looked for someone to ride in and save the day…the volume and intensity in their voices raising with each palm branch waved.

The crowds that went ahead of him and those that followed shouted,

“Hosanna to the Son of David!”

“Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!”

“Hosanna in the highest heaven!”

Hosanna“save, we pray”!  Like most of us, all those gathered were most likely desperate for something …longing to be saved from something or someone.   Author and pastor, Bill Hybels, says it this way …

But everyone who lined the streets had a different reason for waving those palms. Some were political activists; they’d heard Jesus had supernatural power, and they wanted him to use it to free Israel from Roman rule. Others had loved ones who were sick or dying. They waved branches, hoping for physical healing. Some were onlookers merely looking for something to do, while others were genuine followers who wished Jesus would establish himself as an earthly king. Jesus was the only one in the parade who knew why he was going to Jerusalem – to die. He had a mission, while everyone else had an agenda.

–Bill Hybels

Jesus knew His purpose for being there and He  was definitely passionate about it!  As everyone cheered loudly, “Hosanna {save us!}”,  Jesus knew that was exactly what He was headed down the road to do–in the only way He knew it could be done.

Hosanna! Save us!

I’m finding myself in the crowd lining the streets and I’m crying out to Jesus …”Hosanna! Save, I pray! Save ME from my sins that so easily entangle me …anxiety that grips like a choke hold on my throat,  too much attention on me and my own needs!”

As I see my own sins and weaknesses, I realize how they spread themselves like a cloak on those around me, creating disaster and chaos of every kind. This anxiety and selfish ambition will do that every time, you know.   Relationships are stretched beyond normal limits and strain  under the pressure.  I need King Jesus!  Like  David in the Psalms, my sins are ever before me and what I really want to do is lay them down to be crushed  by the mighty Savior, Jesus.  And I find this thing I’m waving looks more like a white flag of surrender than a palm branch.

Have mercy on me, O God,
    because of your unfailing love.
Because of your great compassion,
    blot out the stain of my sins.
 Wash me clean from my guilt.
    Purify me from my sin.

Psalm 51 (NLT)

It seems as I cry out, “Hosanna!  Save me!” from myself,  it’s also a good time to cry out for my people here in America as well –especially during this critical time in our country …

Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.

II Chronicles 7:14 (NLT)

Fast forward to the Presidential campaign trail of 2016.  With a donkey and an elephant as the “beasts of burdens”, many are lining the streets–waving their fists and jumping on bandwagons of philosophy and opinion.  While many are looking to be “saved” from something broken in this world, agendas and judgments are being strewn all over– trying to find a place to land and mark a path for the rising ruler.

There is anxiety  and distress in our country and in the church and frustration over the options. Some are grabbing one part of goodness in one candidate in hopes to overshadow the glaring faults in another. Some shift their loyalty trying to find the better deal.  Some are opting out all together.

Rewind back to that first Palm Sunday …

Jesus … riding into Jerusalem to begin His last week on earth — His ultimate mission to  save us …from ourselves!  His mission was clear then. His mission is clear now!  I will lay down my fears before Him and let Him trample them in victory.  His rule will never end .

I have a simple theology–Jesus is the  Eternal King and He is in charge of everything.  I will do my part to pray diligently and  vote for the candidate that is closest to His heart but I have to trust the sovereign hand of my Father in Heaven to keep this ship upright until He turns the world upside down at His return.

Jesus is the ultimate King of kings and Lord of lords (Rev. 19:16 NLT).

Jesus trumps all others.

God have mercy on us all!  Join me in this prayer as we come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive His mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.” (Hebrews 4:16 NLT)

2 thoughts on “Hosanna! Save us!

  1. Beautifully written Joy. I think sometimes we miss the point that Jesus was fulfilling His purpose on earth on that walk to Jerusalem that day. No doubt he was aware of what was to come and He boldly went there, fulfilling His purpose. While it was extremely difficult and painful for Him on a physical level, the beauty of what He created through His suffering during the fierce battle He waged against evil at that moment is the thing that remains for forever. Love won. His Kingdom Reign is forever!

    Like

Leave a Reply

