Some Thoughts on Election 2016

election

Election 2016 has left me somewhat speechless.   The back and forth and arguing and nasty comments weary my soul; however, I live in America and what happens here obviously matters to me.

What has troubled me even more are the weird lines followers of Jesus have created to rationalize one candidate over the other.   It’s so baffling I can’t even begin to address all of that and won’t even try on this post.  What I feel compelled to share is something to think about beyond who should win the election on, let’s just say, a “platform “of a different kind …that of our churches and front porches and desks at work and tables at lunch.

In our efforts as believers in Jesus Christ to help others walk in the truth and share the Good News of Jesus in our communities and in our nation, we obviously want leaders who will support that and allow that to continue unhindered.  Nothing wrong with that. However, I have to ask myself some tough questions…

Is it possible I have depended on our government leaders to help support my Christian values that so I can have an easier ride and not be forced to share the Good News of Jesus under possible adverse circumstances or negative consequences …or even persecution?  Am I unconsciously hoping for legislature that will make it easier for me so as  not to ruffle any feathers in  my places of business, school, or neighborhoods?  Am I looking for our president to agree with me so my job is uncomplicated in sharing the heart of Jesus?

Is this true “freedom” or is it more like “freeloading”?

I’m reminded that the leaders during the time of Jesus’ day were antagonistic towards Christians to the point of persecution and even death on the cross. The Christians during that time had to be real and make a hard choice to follow Jesus …again, no matter the cost.

Could it be that God is allowing this election to take place so that those of us who make up the Body of Believers — the Church of Jesus Christ — will truly take deep root and actively be the Church to bring about the change that needs to happen through sharing the love and grace of Jesus –the only One Who can truly change hearts?  Could it be it’s more my–our– responsibility as the Church nationwide to feed the poor and give shelter to the homeless and offer help and hope and the salvation that only comes through Jesus Christ?

Have I depended on the government leaders to be a lighthouse with a brightly shining beacon of light so I would only have to have a tiny flashlight  handy to light up the darkness?  Am I  more concerned –as my brother-in-law-pastor asked us Sunday –about  my Christian morals and values not being supported in government for fear of  “being persecuted for doing what’s right.”**

Whose responsibility is it to be a light in a dark world?  Am I subconsciously hoping someone else will do that for me?

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! 18 All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: 19 that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. 20 We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.

(from 2 Corinthians 5 NIV)

“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.”

Matthew 5:14 (NIV)

You might recall Christians in other nations who  suffer under rulers who oppose their faith in Jesus and yet their resolve to follow Jesus is stronger than ever because they know Jesus is absolutely their only hope. The stakes are too high!  They  truly have to make that decision to follow Him — no matter the cost.  Has my lack of cost made me lazy in my race and made me forget the high cost He paid with His own life so we could all be free!?

I’m not at all saying I want to live in a country where freedom of religion is denied and I’m also not saying not to vote  but I do wonder if it’s time for me as a believer in Jesus Christ to be the light and hope and ambassador He has called me  to be instead of depending on the outcome of this election to allow me to sit back in my easy chair.

Is this a wake-up call to Christians like myself that it’s really my (our) responsibility  to pray and seek God’s face for the salvation and redemption of our nation?

 “–if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

2 Chronicles 7:14 (NIV)

Just some thoughts  to consider … and may God’s will be done in my heart during this season.

CREDITS:
*Graphic made using http://www.Canva.com
**You can watch Bruce Martin’s sermon from 10-23-2016 given at Westside Community Church (formerly 100x Church) here.

Leave a Reply

