Baby Feet and Blossoms… {Finding life-giving moments}

 

Be aware when you start a 30-day challenge to find life-giving moments you might find what feels like death before you find any life.  After a many-hour-long-battle with an excruciating headache, I’m here to tell you– life is good right now.

I found life in God’s healing power today.

“…for I am the Lord who heals you.”

Read more of the story in Exodus 15 (NLT)

I found life in the love and care of a loving husband who went to the pharmacy early in the morning …returning with ginger gum for nausea!  Who knew!

I found life in looking back at our grandson Edon’s sweet baby feet in the sand.  

I found life in noticing the gardenia bud I’ve been watching is now unfolding into a fragrant new blossom…

I found life in being able to wash my clothes right here in my own home (long story …).  Never take for granted the small things.  Mama always said, “Thank God for everything.”

“In the beginning the Word already existed.
    The Word was with God,
    and the Word was God…

 The Word gave life to everything that was created,
    and his life brought light to everyone.

from John 1:1-5 (NLT)

Father God, thank You for all your good gifts today!


Where did you find life-giving moments today?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Baby Feet and Blossoms… {Finding life-giving moments}

  1. I really don’t want to do this challenge, because I really want to be mad about life right now, and as much as I want to be ok, I don’t want to be ok when things are so not ok. I’m really not ok with it.

    But I also think that’s why I really need to do the challenge… so against my desire to pity myself and reject the gifts that God does give me- here goes.

    Today I saw life in the purple flowers blooming in my yard, in making a grocery run with a good friend who is gracious to me, in a quick but refreshing catch up with another good friend, in the brief thunderstorm while it was still sunny outside, in snuggling up on the couch to watch a movie with my sister, and in my loving husband playing with my laughing baby girl. She’s so beautiful.

    Like

    • Oh Carlee …I feel your pain. I really do. I know how it feels to not want the challenge to see life after experiencing the deep loss you’ve experienced. Some days the life you may “find” will just be the ability and grace to talk honestly with God and others about how mad you are and how unfair life is. That’s still okay too. That’s life. That’s real. We don’t have to make up pie-in-the-sky moments …just real life. I love that you started out with your honest words. That means a lot that you feel safe to share that here …and it’s completely safe to share that here anytime. I decided I could go into another deep pity party as this year-anniversary rolls around or try to find the truth of the resurrection power that Jesus talks about. I think we’re in for a good journey. Thank you for wrestling it out with me and taking the challenge — even if we’re kicking and screaming, right !! 🙂 I love you dearly. Thanks for gracing us with your life-moments today. It matters. You matter so much to me.

      Like

  2. Thank you so much dear Joy, feeling so blessed to know you. Wow, ginger-gum, that would be perfect for flying, anti-nausea.
    I found life in living with no burglar bars and no security gates.
    I found life in being able to walk in the woods freely.
    I found life in being surrounded by these beautiful grand babies.
    I found life in technology and being able to communicate face to face with my children on two other continents.
    And most important, I found life in Jesus.

    Love you friendy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Grand Finale {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge} | a life-giving moment

Leave a Reply

