Rosebuds and Raindrops { Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge }

Google gave a shout out in their creative graphics that today is  World Environment Day (June 5, 2017).  The organization’s  tagline inspires us with … “Reconnecting you to nature —  #WithNature. “

And Henry’s word yesterday rings true again today …“God always has a plan to get us back to Him.”  …to “bring us back home,” as my husband so often says.

The heavens proclaim the glory of God.
    The skies display his craftsmanship.

Psalm 19:1 (NLT)

Nature reveals the glory of God.  There’s a reason it brings life to our souls.  God’s masterpiece woven into our very being has created a longing for His glory and beauty.  It reminds us of our Heavenly Father …the Maker of Heaven and Earth.  It’s His image reflected in the water, the sky, the birds, the flowers, the oceans.  It’s His image reflected in the beauty we see all around…in you …in me.   It brings us back to Him, the Creator of all Life!  His creation fills me with Life.

I’m not sure what I love more …a flower that has fully bloomed or the emerging bud.  Something about the budding of a flower brings such joy to me.  Perhaps it’s the promise of what’s to come…the expectation of birth …it’s coming!! What seemed dormant for so long is now pushing its way through the dirt and mud and signs of life are beginning to take shape …Life.

Coneflower ( Echinacea )

Hibiscus Flower

Today marks a  family member’s birthday. Days like this give  opportunity to say, “I love you,”  “I’m thinking about you and praying for you,”  “I’m cheering you on.”   Remember.  Call. Share.   Life.

Today our son-in-law sent a video of our 2-year old grandson, Edon, eating edamame with chopsticks …priceless.  Life!

Raindrops came into town this morning– forcing me inside to walk.  Everything about that sounds so wrong, especially on “World Environment Day” but #walkingitoutwithJesus takes me everywhere He goes …even the mall.

Since I’m on this “finding life” kick, I had to really pay attention — even with all the noise of overhead music and people everywhere.  I found life in listening to a guy singing a love song to the top of his lungs …right  along with the background mall music …seemingly uninhibited by what others might think.  His love of life in the moment gave me  Life.

I also noticed I was walking in the mall with some of the Senior Saints, as some churches describe  those over 60’ish 🙂 . (Or is it over 55?? hmmm…)   I’m nudging closer to that age so today it made me smile to see a husband and wife walking together to get their exercise inside on a hot, muggy day in Alabama.  Staying together.  Making it work.  Enjoying life in a way that fits their season.   Life.

I struggled a minute to continue sharing in this 30-Day Challenge since it seems I’m sharing pieces of a my own personal journal with you and you may or may not really be interested.  In flipping through my actual journal, I came across some words I wrote down while listening to Mark Batterson …words he shared at a recent writer’s conference at Mount Hermon.  I’ll leave them with you in case you need encouragement to keep sharing your story as well.

“Stay humble .  Stay hungry.”…My story doesn’t belong to me. “

Mark Batterson

And this just hot off the press …My Ramblin’ Man husband is writing again over at moreconversationsthatmatter.com — a  story for conversation and humble consideration about the  negative stereotypes we often place on people of another culture.  Read more Here.  Life.

Find  life wherever you can today.  Here.  There. Everywhere!  Write.  Speak.  Sing.  Laugh.  Enjoy God’s creation. 


Source Credit:  http://worldenvironmentday.global/

Leave a Reply

