Sidewalks, Stem Cells and Sisters {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

My morning walk took me down a stretch of sidewalk that had once held anxiety for me.  Silly and irrational …but anxiety all the same.  I’m embarrassed to tell you why but it had to do with  what-I-thought was a corroded battery. A simple, old battery now contained more power over me than the AA voltage it started out with.  I avoided that small section of the sidewalk with every ounce of power within me.

Several weeks ago, God spoke into my heart  that He was going to redeem all of the path that I walked on.  I began to walk a little differently after that …more confident and free.  God even removed it from my view!  It’s not there anymore!

“Every situation the Holy Spirit leads us into should be better because we are there.”

(Henry Tolbert)

This morning I was thankful for the ability to walk and not faint  …to enjoy the gentle breeze and the song the bird was singing.  God reminded me again of His promise to me with His love etched in the shape of a cross on that exact stretch of sidewalk. I noticed it again today. The path redeemed.   Life.

The prayer warriors gathered later at our home to pray up a storm.  We have carried each other’s burdens for a long time and it brings life to my soul and peace to my heart.  The Spirit moves in the middle of it all and we leave a little lighter …more refreshed …strengthened …not alone in our journey.  It’s multi-cultural and multi-denominational …united in One Lord and One Savior, Jesus Christ.  These are my sisters and my brothers …the body of Christ …a beautiful thing.  Life.

The sisters and brothers have been praying for healing for my sis-in-law (who-is-more-like-a-sister),  Kay.  Several months ago the doctors told her she has pre-leukemia and without any treatment at all — transfusions, chemo, and stem cell transplant — she would have 6 months to a year to live.  We wanted her longer.  We went before God and asked for mercy and help in her time of need.  We begged for mercy on her behalf.  A donor.  Life!

Today, Kay was able to have a stem cell transplant.  And the donor …her own son, Jonathan, who gave something of his own life’s blood so his mama could live.  

Kay and her son, Jonathan { Photo by Sheryl Renee Portraits, Greenville, SC }

Photo by Sheryl Renee Portraits, Greenville, SC

My niece, Angela,  said it best… “Through God’s grace 35 years ago mom gave birth to a son. Today her son gave life to her.”  According to the doctors –5.26 billion stem cells …since somebody’s counting!  “The life of the body is in its blood.” (Leviticus 17:11 NLT) Life!

Sound familiar?  God’s love pictured in their story.   What love.  What sacrifice. What a Savior!  Life.

Jesus said…

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

John 10:10 NIV


You may be in the middle of a story that feels like someone is trying to steal your joy and the life is being sucked right out of you.  Look for life.  Ask God  for it.  Jesus came to give LIFE.  Let His life show you the way home.

Where did you notice LIFE today?

It’s Day 6 in “Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge”…Keep looking!  There’s always more!

Photo Credit:  Photo of Kay and Jonathan Waters  by  Sheryl Renee Portraits, Greenville, South Carolina

6 thoughts on “Sidewalks, Stem Cells and Sisters {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

  1. Thank you, Joy. You truly are a joy for everyone and I love this article thanks for sharing.
    I love reading all your articles for God has given you a blessing through your writing.

    Phyllis

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Letter to Mama on her Birthday in Heaven {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge} | a life-giving moment

  3. Pingback: Mystery {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge} | a life-giving moment

Leave a Reply

