The Sky’s the Limit {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

A few weeks ago my sister sent me a care package.  She’s tracking my heart these days.  As the oldest, I think that’s her job but she seems to be okay with that.  Life!

The package contained a calendar that started with the month of June,  a word search book with Bible verses about peace, and a personal note…

“June 1st — The first day of the rest of your life.”

It began a string of thoughts that the Holy Spirit used to weave into this 30-Day Challenge of finding life in the month of June.  Last year, June became  a string of days that anticipating death.  I didn’t want to relive that.  Challenging myself to find life everyday  is changing me…day by day.  Writing it here is keeping me accountable.

“The Sky’s the Limit”

“…there are no limits … anything is possible … The sky’s the limit.”

www.merriam-webster.com

For with God nothing shall be impossible.

Each day I wake up with anticipation about what I’ll see and hear and touch that will bring  life to my soul.  It’s working.  Life is beginning to awaken within me again.  God is bringing “what is eternal into time” as Soren Kierkegaard so beautifully expressed.

The Ramblin’ Man and I had our coffee on the front porch again this morning  and I listened as he talked about the “wing war”  the mourning doves were having at the bird-feeder and “co-mingling” of time and eternity.  Life is always a mix of territory and time. Life!

Almost every day I have a routine I’ve affectionately named, #walkingitoutwithJesus.  It’s been a life line for me of working out the anxiety through talking it out with Jesus step by step.  He’s reshaping me as I enjoy the moments with Him.  We walk and talk and work things out together.

Today the sky seemed incredibly blue and brilliant and the words my sister wrote wrapped it all together as I started to write …

June …the first day of the rest of my life!  God is turning things around on this year anniversary in ways I could never have imagined.  It’s a new day …a new season.

For I am about to do something new.
    See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?
I will make a pathway through the wilderness.
    I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.

Isaiah 43:19 (NLT)

God is making a pathway through my wilderness of grief and loss.  He’s creating new thirst in  a barren land.  I’ve accepted the “through” way instead of the “by-pass.”  I’m learning deeper intimacy  can only be forged in the “through” …Life!

As I walked by the creek today, the sound of the water became God’s own sound machine of nature’s pure calm… playing over my soul as He held me close to His heart.  Life!  

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard,
    and no mind has imagined
what God has prepared
    for those who love him.”

I Corinthians 2:9 (NLT)

As much as I try to notice every life-giving moment of the day, I’m still limited by time and space to all God has prepared for us.  It’s beyond my imagination. It’s way beyond the blue.  But even so, He has planted eternity in our hearts to give us a glimpse of His glory.

Yet God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 (NLT)

 

I don’t get to see and hear and touch  it all every day but it sure is fun to try.

“And he walks with me, and he talks with me,
and he tells me I am his own;
and the joy we share as we tarry there,
none other has ever known.”

C. Austin Miles

 

{#Day 8 ~ Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge }


What did you see today?  What sounds captured your attention that made you stop and listen? Where did you find the Life God wanted to share with you today?

Leave a Reply

