A Letter to Mama on her Birthday in Heaven {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

Happy Birthday in Heaven, Mama!!

I miss you, “my sweetie.”  I miss your voice …your words of wisdom to me …your prayers for me and my family …your attentivenes.  There’s a gap in the atmosphere without you.  A piece will always be missing.

I think it was so fitting you went home to be with Jesus the day before your birthday.  I wanted to throw you a big 93rd birthday but Jesus did instead.  I think you got the best celebration there with Daddy, your mama and daddy, sisters and brothers …  What a celebration!!  What a party!!

You told me a few weeks before you died that Daddy was “working something out.”  Since he had been in heaven about 15 years, I assumed you meant he was working something out for you to come home.  You think he was having a conversation with Jesus about scheduling your flight out of this world?  You seemed to be living somewhere between here and eternity those last few weeks.  I guess God was preparing you …giving you a glimpse of glory to come.

You went up and down the halls of the assisted living looking for your mama and daddy…often telling me they had both died in that same building many years before.  How very interesting that God established the very place you would breathe your last breath…near memories of the loving arms of your own mama.

At the very end, you thought I was your mama.  Did you see her on the other side?  Was heaven coming into focus? Was the fog of this life lifting here and there so you could see the land beyond the river? Was the veil a little thinner?

There’s a land that is fairer than day,
And by faith we can see it afar;
For the Father waits over the way
To prepare us a dwelling place there.

In the sweet by and by,
We shall meet on that beautiful shore;
In the sweet by and by,
We shall meet on that beautiful shore.

We shall sing on that beautiful shore
The melodious songs of the blessed;
And our spirits shall sorrow no more,
Not a sigh for the blessing of rest.

In the Sweet By and By

written by Sanford F. Bennett, 1868

Roger with our grandson, David ~ Photo by Rachel Martin Raddatz

I’m sitting by the lake on the Tennessee River writing this letter to you.  You’d be worried about me being by the water, of course. You’d have been worried about Kay having to go through her journey with pre-leukemia and treatments.  I’m glad you were spared that; but then I guess you’re not worried anymore.  The old way of things has been swallowed up in victory!  Praise God.  No more worries.  No more sorrow.  Nor more pain.  

Enjoy your birthday in heaven, Mama.  I’m not sure if they have your favorite strawberry cake like June made for you on your 90th birthday; but I’m sure it’s better than anything else you’ve ever tasted.  Save a piece for me!

Taste and see that the Lord is good;
    blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.

Psalm 34:8 NIV

You often said, “There’s no U-Haul behind the hearse.”  I saw that verse underlined in your Bible this morning … “For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out.” (I Timothy 6:7 (KJV) .  You sure lived in light of that.  You must have a lot of treasures in heaven because you surely didn’t store them here.

Thank you, Mama!  Thank you for spending your life with a view of Jesus and heaven in mind.  I know your faith is now seen as sight.

What a birthday it must be!

Until I see you again …

Happy Birthday!  I love you bunches! ~Joy

In Loving Memory of
Helen Brownlee Waters
June 10, 1923 – June 9, 2016

One of Mama’s many notes she left tucked away in a Bible or a journal or a hymnbook


My husband wrote today about my Mom — a.k.a. Memaw.   I’d love for you to read his words as well. Click HERE for that post.

Today’s Challenge:  What words of life can you find today?  What words can you speak or write or sing or paint that will bring life to others?  

#day10  {Finding Life::A 30-Day Challenge}

 

2 thoughts on “A Letter to Mama on her Birthday in Heaven {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

Leave a Reply

