The Air Conditioned Life {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge }

This 30-Day Challenge of Finding Life gets a little tricky.  I’ve made myself accountable to look for life every day and share that here for the 30 days of June– hopefully encouraging you to look for life in the process.  As I sat down to write tonight, the first (and maybe only) word that initially came to mind was …AIR CONDITIONER !!

Life!!  Yep, that’s deep, right!

At 7:32 p.m. in Alabama, my 1Weather app says it’s 87 degrees  and “feels like” 91 degrees.  Nobody’s kidding here …it “feels like” 91 degrees outside for sure!  On days like today,  our house A/C is running  constantly and for this Mama to be happy, the car A/C will most likely need to be cranked up to the highest setting available to mankind.    It may sound shallow, but today’s life-giving thought “feels like” it’s  all about  comfort in the A/C.  Life is better at 68 – 72 degrees, right!!??  I think it’s safe to say, air conditioning if life-giving to me!

I can’t complain.  I won’t complain.  I’m sitting in an air-conditioned house.  I drove around in an air-conditioned mini-van all day…a mini-van that has been a wonderful  provision for us since the crash.   God has graciously provided comfort, even for what feels like a  shallow, physical  want.

The truth is, my husband and I were able to relax  by a lake on the Tennessee River this weekend.  We had space for refreshing as we reflected on the life and legacy of  Mama on the one-year anniversary of her  transition to heaven.

I remembered Miss Jean’s life and the gift of love I still have in  the memories of her.

Being away from the city was much-needed life …like the flowers at the river’s edge…

and  the wonders in God’s creation as I watched the baby birds waiting for their meal to come…

and the  hearts etched in the sidewalks or sand along the paths I walk … my  heavenly Father continuing to show His love for me.  Wherever I go I can never get away from His love or His presence.  He seems to enjoy making sure I know that …especially when I don’t feel very lovable or worthy of His love.

 How precious is your unfailing love, O God!
All humanity finds shelter
    in the shadow of your wings.
You feed them from the abundance of your own house,
    letting them drink from your river of delights.
For you are the fountain of life,
    the light by which we see.

Psalm 36:7-9 (NLT)

Seeing the honeysuckle reminded me of good days from my childhood when my brother, Phil, and I  would enjoy the “juice” from the blossoms without a care in the world about whether they were safe or not.  No worries.  Just  Life!

I’m older now …and not much wiser.  I have to watch for life and notice life and remember the Giver of life.  It doesn’t always come naturally.  

It’s easy to worry …especially about my kids — now all grown up and spread out from the East  to the West Coast.  It’s easy to be overcome with anxiety as one is traveling across the country by himself today, another is living with the uncertainties of Type 1 diabetes, one is working through a difficult season, and another is praying about new opportunities on the horizon.

Times like these remind me that my wisdom may fail but God’s wisdom will never fail.  My lack of wisdom compels me to run to the Word and find strength and help for  the situations of life that might come on any given  day.  In the most anxious or lonely or discouraging moments … In the joys and celebrations and happiest of times…

The Lord is my strength and my [impenetrable] shield;
My heart trusts [with unwavering confidence] in Him, and I am helped;
Therefore my heart greatly rejoices,
And with my song I shall thank Him and praise Him.

Psalm 28:7 (AMP)


How’s the 30-Day Challenge going for you?  Are you finding life in the good and the not-so-good days?  Did anything awaken life within you today?  Are your eyes becoming more accustomed to finding life?

I’d love to hear your stories of life!

#Day12 Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge

Leave a Reply

