Simple Joys {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

My days are often viewed through the lens of my Samsung cell-phone camera.  Pictures document the moments lived and experienced.   Today was full of simple joys.  Noticing.  Documenting.  Photographing.  Enjoying life as it is presented in the moment.  God’s gracious gifts throughout the day…

“You’ve been given a gift, this profound connection to everything.  Just look for it, and I promise you it’s there, the collateral beauty.”
{spoken to Howard (Will Smith) by Madeleine (Naomie Harris) in the movie, Collateral Beauty (Warner Bros)}

I think God was onto something when He walked with Adam and Eve  in the cool of the day!  Alabama’s getting hotter by the day so  timing  a daily walk around temperature and humidity levels is absolutely crucial!

On today’s #walkingitoutwithJesus I asked God for shade along the way and a breeze every now and then to keep me cool. God provided. Simple joys …Life!

Often I will ask God to show me His glory in some way.   Intentional focus.   He seems more than willing to answer that prayer–I just have to pay attention.  Simple prayer.  Simple joys.  Life!

(I still can’t get enough of that Mimosa Tree around the corner from my house!  It just makes me happy!)

But life is never just about what we see …

There’s the joy of food and smells and friendships and conversations shared …

and lattes …with a smudge on the table (left) that I’d like to think was a heart …but then that might be a stretch …

seeing creative beauty in an interesting clock and appreciating the designer and craftsmanship …

Simple joys …Life!

Reading the words of God again that need to be embedded deep in my heart …

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding …

Proverbs 3:5 (ESV)

Simple joys …Life!


If your day were documented through photos, how would it look?  What would end up in the highlight reel?

Today’s Challenge:  Go back and look at your phone or camera photos of the last few days.  Pay attention.  Where do you see life?  Is there a thread of something God may be speaking to you about through these moments you captured?  Does it reveal your  focus?   Share your thoughts here or with a friend.  Stay connected!

Keep looking for life!

Movie credit:

https://www.warnerbros.com/collateral-beauty
http://www.movie-quotes.com/quote/1b6d5d927a8a74f1f

Food Credit: Alchemy Lounge @ Lowe Mill, Huntsville, Alabama  (Thanks guys!!  It was delicious!!)

2 thoughts on “Simple Joys {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

  1. I am so looking forward to our walk and talk with God tomorrow. I have my camera ready and praying for my spiritual eyes to be focused on the “collateral beauty” all around us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

