Words of Life {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

When I was a little girl, we used to sing a simple hymn,  “Wonderful Words of Life,” in our Sunday School class.  I can still see my teacher, Miss Barbara Benson, holding up visuals for the songs we sang and afterward watching with wide-eyed wonder as she shared the  Bible story lessons using flannel graph figures.  Oh the days!  Oh the sweet memories!  Life!

As I was #walkingitoutwithJesus this morning, that song came to mind out of the blue.  I don’t think I’ve thought of that song in years but the words came as if to speak life to me today …

Wonderful Words of Life

Sing them over again to me,
Wonderful words of life,
Let me more of their beauty see,
Wonderful words of life;
Words of life and beauty
Teach me faith and duty.

Refrain:
Beautiful words, wonderful words,
Wonderful words of life;
Beautiful words, wonderful words,
Wonderful words of life.

Christ, the blessed One, gives to all
Wonderful words of life;
Sinner, list to the loving call,
Wonderful words of life;
All so freely given,
Wooing us to heaven.

Sweetly echo the Gospel call,
Wonderful words of life;
Offer pardon and peace to all,
Wonderful words of life;
Jesus, only Savior,
Sanctify us forever.

Philip P. Bliss, 1874

I had asked God to show me His glory again.  The Spirit seemed to sing this in my ear and I started humming along with Him.

“Sing them over again to me …let me more of their beauty see …words of life and beauty …teach me faith and duty…beautiful words …wonderful words …wonderful words of life.”  …the words echoing in my mind  as I walked the sidewalk.

Words have a way of gathering us into the light or covering us in dark clouds of despair.  Today they brought life!

Words can reveal life and beauty.  They can teach us about faith and how to walk in obedience to God’s heart.  They can be wonderful and life-giving …when used well.

Today a friend spoke life into my heart as she shared a story of loss that was similar to my own.  It’s funny how that makes you feel better even though you don’t wish any sadness on anyone else.  Your heart feels oddly comforted from another understanding heart.  Even with a little different story line,  you know the emotions felt are still the same.

It brought encouragement to my weary heart today and hope of further healing.  Life!

As I settled back in at home, afternoon coffee and  chocolate  sealed the deal for me. And the words on the Dove chocolate wrapper …well they were pretty wonderful as well!

What a fantastic idea! Life!

Thanks friend!  And to my brother, Phil, and my Sunday School buddies — I know you’ll be singing this song all day now.  🙂  Enjoy!


And you?  What words of life did you hear today?  Any life-giving song echo in your mind today?

#Day21 ~ Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge

One thought on “Words of Life {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

  1. Pingback: Morning Melody {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge} | a life-giving moment

Leave a Reply

