Mystery {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

I’m learning to be more intentional about looking at my surroundings.  What do I see?  What do I hear? Where is God in any of this? What is my response to all I see and hear?   Who are the people in the story today?  What am I supposed to learn?   What am I supposed to share?  What are the wonders God is revealing in the moments?

In today’s #walkingitoutwithJesus, I whispered a prayer here and there and thanked God for the comfortable breeze with lower humidity.  It was a great time to walk and talk on the phone with my brother and  check up on my sister-in-law, Kay, …thanking God together that her body is beginning to show more signs of life as it accepts  the newly transplanted  stem cells.

As I neared the end of the path, I begin to feel  like I hadn’t received any huge revelation from God and maybe I should look  harder…try harder.   What had I done before on this path that revealed His glory?  Where were those special places along the way that I normally feel His presence?  At the water’s edge?  Where the mimosa tree hangs over the bank near the rushing water?

While the fragrance was still intoxicating and the view glorious, there wasn’t a lightning bolt from heaven that carried  a profound word that left me speechless.

I didn’t fall to my knees feeling that I had been on holy ground.  There was no burning bush experience.

It didn’t become a place to pile up stones so I could  remember this now and forever as the location the God of all creation spoke a powerful message or delivered a prophetic word of deliverance or gave a future blessing on my family.

As I sat and thought back on the day, there were beautiful moments I experienced  in worship and fellowship at church.  The weather was beautiful.  I was able to make an on-line Skype appearance at our granddaughter’s 8th birthday party.  My husband and I were able to have meaningful conversation with  our son as he begins another life-adventure in a new area of the country.  Simple joys.  Sweet moments.   Life. 

However, in all of the wonder of today,  I struggled to find something that might  fit into the category of, “Didn’t our hearts burn within us as He talked with us on the road and explained the Scriptures to us?”   But then I looked at the simple picture I had taken from today’s walk …

It happened toward the end of the walk.  As I casually looked up at the sky, this scene captured my attention.  I loved it but I didn’t really know why.  The trees didn’t come together in the shape of a heart or reveal something that seemed to be in the realm of the supernatural and yet, I was drawn to this view.  I couldn’t stop looking at.  I took several pictures in the same spot.  Was I was subconsciously hoping I would “see” something miraculous show up on the screen when I returned home?

I still love this picture and it still calls to me but I’m wondering if God just wanted to leave it in the category of the mystery of His grace and presence today.  Does everything have to be completely understood to make an impact for eternity?  Is there necessarily a “lesson” I’m  supposed to glean from my daily journey with God or can I just enjoy the mystery…the not-yet understood …the unexplainable ?

Tonight I’m resting in the mystery of today’s journey …the simple joys of life that God uses to bring satisfying peace…the security of Jesus with me …the sheer enjoyment of walking with Jesus.  That’s enough for today.


Where did you find the mystery and wonder in your day?

#Day25 ~ Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge

One thought on “Mystery {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge}

  1. Pingback: Grand Finale {Finding Life :: A 30-Day Challenge} | a life-giving moment

Leave a Reply

